Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PubMed: The Basics: Finding Full-Text

A how-to guide on using and searching the New PubMed

Finding Full-Text

Full-Text Available through MBKU Library

To access full-text journal articles, make sure to access the New PubMed from the library's homepage. You'll be prompted to login so that you can connect to the library's journal subscriptions.

Screenshot of the database menu on the library homepage


In PubMed, look for the purple Find@MBKU button to download or locate the full-text article.

Screenshot of an item in PubMed with the Find@MBKU button

If the MBKU buttons are not available and you are having trouble accessing the article, you can request the article through the library's interlibrary loan service.

Open Access Full-Text

Many articles indexed in PubMed are Open Access and are therefore freely available to download.

To find Open Access/free full-text articles, select Free Full-Text under the Text Availability heading in the filter menu.

screenshot of selecting 'free full-text'

Additionally, when looking at an item in PubMed, look for Full Text Links that indicate that the article is free to read.

screenschot of free full text links

NOTE: Many useful articles are NOT Open Access. Utilize both Open Access articles as well as journals the library subscribes to to ensure that you are finding as many pertinent articles as possible. As always you can also make an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request for articles you cannot freely access through those two means.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Articles that are not available through the library can be requested through InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Students, faculty, outreach, and staff at MBKU can request articles for free. Use the InterLibrary Loan request form found under the MBKU record for the item, or email the complete article citation or link to library@ketchum.edu and we'll process your request. Please avoid sending snapshots of the citation.

If possible, try to request your articles early. ILL orders can take 2-5 business days and will arrive and forwarded to you as a PDF that you can keep.

Need Help?

Contact Us
  • Call: 714-449-7440
  • E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
  • Chat online: Bottom right corner
    • Available during open hours
  • Book a Librarian Online Form 
    • In-person or virtual appointments
  • Drop by in person:
    • Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5pm

Location

Second Floor of ‚ÄčBldg. A, 

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd. 

Fullerton, CA 92831


Winter Quarter Hours

          Sun: 11am-11pm

          Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11pm

          Sat: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar