Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The mission of the M.B. Ketchum Memorial Library is to support the research, instructional, and informational goals of MBKU students, faculty, and residents in their pursuit of life-long learning. The library creates and fosters an enriching learning environment by providing essential services, facilities, and information resources to support the Optometry, PA, and Pharmacy programs.
Back to MBKU Library Website
Library Services & Policies
- Access to online and print materials such as books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, and databases from the Library Website.
- Book a Librarian - Use this online form to schedule a day/time with a specific librarian or select "Any librarian available."
- Literature Search/Research Help - We can show students how to efficiently research their topics. We can also do a literature search for faculty (online form), finding an assortment of article abstracts for the faculty member to choose from.
- Online Workshops - We offer workshops throughout the year on various topics. To find upcoming workshops and RSVP go to our library workshops page.
- Interlibrary Loans - Items not found at the MBKU Library can be requested from another library free of charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Search for a title in MBKU Discovery (on the library website) and submit the ILL online form link you'll find underneath it.
- Chargers and Cords - We provide chargers, adapters, and presentation cords for various devices. Find out more on the "Circulation / Check-outs" tab above.
- Office Equipment - A paper cutter, three hole punch, stapler, ruler, scissors, and tape are available at the front desk. They may not leave the desk without permission.
- Compulink Computers - Two computers with patient data Compulink software downloaded are available in the back of the library. Keep HIPAA protocols in mind.
Circulation Policies and Information
How to renew your eligible checkouts
- Renew your materials online by accessing your "My Checkouts Account" - note this is a different login from your Library Resources Login. Use the instructions under the "My Checkouts Account" tab on the login help webpage.
- Or you can email email@example.com and request a renewal for your items.
- Or call 714-449-7440 requesting a renewal for your items.
Collection Policies and Information
- Searching for resources - On the library website, the MBKU Discovery search box contains the book, ebook, audiovisual, journal, and equipment holdings of the library. Searches may be done by author, title, subject, etc.
- Books - The library collection consists of over 10,000 books in vision science, medical, pharmaceutical, and related areas. It is arranged by the Library of Congress classification system.
- Journals - The journal collection consists of 150 current titles and 6,500 bound journal volumes. Most are available electronically. Arranged alphabetically by title, print issues for the current year are displayed on the low shelves in the Current Journal section. Older issues are located in the journal stacks nearby. The best way to search for Journal titles is through the Journals A-Z tool.
- Reference - The reference collection includes directories, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other basic source material. Reference is located on the low shelves by the new journal's section.
- Indexes - The index area follows the reference section and contains a few different print indexes: Ophthalmic Literature and Excerpta Medica: Ophthalmology.
- Audiovisuals - Over 200 slide and 500 video programs, DVDs, and a collection of CD-ROMs are listed in MBKU Discovery.
- Recreational Reading - Current copies of popular magazines and paperback books are located in the Library Study Lounge. Books may be taken out of the library, magazines may not.
Guide for Printing at the Library
The IT department offers printing inside the library and elsewhere on campus. Click the link to find out costs, what can be printed, how to go about printing, and where to pick up your print jobs.
iPad Lending Policy
- General Information - There are two iPads available for checkout to faculty and students at the Circulation Desk in the library. iPads should not be removed from building A.
- Please by aware that:
- You may not download any apps or ebooks
- iPads should be carefully handled and not left unattended to avoid damage and theft
- Damage or loss of iPad will be subject to fines or fees
- Checkout and Return:
- iPads are loaned on a first-come, first-serve basis
- iPads can be checked out for 2 hour periods. If you exceed the checkout limit, fines will accrue at $1 per hour.
- iPads cannot be checked out overnight and must be returned during normal library operating hours.
- iPads must be returned in person. They should NOT be placed in any of the library dropboxes.
- Any files saved and/or downloaded to the device may be removed at the discretion of the library.
- Fees for Loss or Damage - If an iPad is damaged, lost, stolen, or otherwise not returned, users take responsibility for the full cost of the iPad ($350). Users will not be charged for normal wear and tear of the device. Fees for damage will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. Users will be charged a replacement fee for the iPad case ($20) if it is lost.
Rules of Conduct
- The library is divided into two areas; the Main larger part of the library, and the Library Study Lounge. The Main area is considered a “Whisper Area” where quiet discussion is allowed. The Study Lounge has been designated a “Quiet Area” where complete silence is required.
- Study rooms are on a first-come, first-serve basis, and are for groups of two or more MBKU students. Study rooms should not be "saved" by leaving possessions in the room for more than 15 minutes. Visitors may not use MBKU study rooms.
- Problems with noise or behavior should be reported to the library staff by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org. All e-mails will be kept confidential.
- Per the MBKU Student Handbook, food should be consumed in the Student Union. Students are not allowed to eat anything inside the library and only snacks are allowed in the outside seminar/study rooms. Drinks are allowed in containers with spill-proof lids.
- Professional behavior is expected from students at all times.
- Telephones - Cell phones should be set to silent in the library. Cell phone conversations should take place inside closed study rooms or outside the library.
- Visitors - Study rooms are reserved for MBKU student use only. The public must check at the security office on the first floor of the parking garage where they will check IDs and do a Covid-19 screening to be cleared and given access to the badge-access Building A doors. The Library is located on the 2nd floor of Building A.
Submit Your Feedback/Suggestions