Skip to Main Content

EndNote: Importing Citations from Databases

Adding References from Databases

Many databases are able to add references into your ibrary. The first step is to have the database create a file containing the references, and then you can import this file into EndNote.


Cochrane Library

Citations from the Cochrane Library can be exported individually or in batches.

  1. You may export all results or just a selection of citations from the results page.
  2. Select Export all or Export selected at the top of the results page.
  3. From the Choose your export options window:
    1. Select your computer’s operating system (PC, Unix or Linux, or Mac) in the Export type dropdown.
    2. Select file type: citation only, or citation and abstract.
    3. Click Export Citation
  4. A .txt file will be downloaded to your computer.
  5. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.

EBSCO Databases

Citations can be exported from any EBSCO database (e.g., MEDLINE Complete and ERIC) either individually or in batches.

  1. From the results page, click on the blue folder icon to the right of the citation(s) you would like to export to EndNote. The folder will turn yellow once a citation has been added to the temporary folder in EBSCO.
  2. Once you have added citations to your folder and are ready to export them, click folder view in the right column.
  3. To send all citations in your folder select export in the right column.
  4. Several options will appear on the next page.
    1. Select Direct Export in RIS Format if you’re using EndNote desktop.
    2. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web if you’re using the web version of EndNote.
  5. Click save to download the file.
  6. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.

 


Google Scholar

Google Scholar can only send one reference at a time.

  1. From the results page, click on the double quotes icon from the reference you'd like to add to EndNote.
  2. Select EndNote at the bottom of the pop-up window.
  3. An .enw file will be saved onto your computer.
  4. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.


PubMed

PubMed can send references individually or in batches.

  1. From the results page, select one or more citations that you would like to add to your EndNote library.
  2. Click the Send To dropdown menu.
  3. Select Citation Manager and Create File.
  4. A .nbib file will be downloaded to your computer.
  5. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.


SciFinder

SciFinder can export citations individually or in batches.

  1. From the results page, select one or more citations that you would like to add to your EndNote library.
  2. Click Export on the upper-right corner of the page.
  3. A pop-up window will open. By default, SciFinder will export the citation you have selected. You may also choose to export all results, or select a specific range (i.e., 2-20).
  4. Leave Citation export format (*.ris) selected.
  5. You may choose a file name if you wish.
  6. Select Export to download the file to your computer.
  7. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.

Importing Reference Files

See directions below for how to import a reference file into EndNote.

  1. From the top toolbar select File > Import > File
  2. Select the file you wish to import.
  3. The option you select in the Import Option dropdown field will depend on what type of file you have and/or the database the file was generated from. Here are some common options (NOTE: if they don’t appear from the dropdown menu, select other filters to search the complete list):
    1. Cochrane Library: select Cochrane Library (Wiley) to import your .txt file.
    2. EBSCO Databases: select Reference Manager (RIS) to import your .ris file.
    3. Google Scholar: select EndNote Import to import your .enw file.
    4. PubMed: select PubMed (NLM) to import your .nbib file.
    5. SciFinder: select Reference Manager (RIS) to import your .ris file.
  4. Duplicates: The default setting is to import all citations.
    1. If you would like EndNote to discard any duplicate citations already in your library, choose Discard Duplicates to have them automatically deleted.
    2. If you would like EndNote to separate and keep any duplicate citations, choose Import into Duplicates Library.
  5. Translation: if you are importing citations that are in another language, EndNote can translate it for you here. Otherwise, select No Translation.

Need Help?

Contact Us
  • Call: 714-449-7440
  • E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
  • Chat online: Bottom right corner
    • Available during open hours
  • Book a Librarian Online Form 
    • In-person or virtual appointments
  • Drop by in person:
    • Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5:00pm

Location

Second Floor of ‚ÄčBldg. A, 

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd. 

Fullerton, CA 92831


Summer Quarter Hours

          Mon-Thurs: 7:30am-11pm

Fri: 7:30am-5pm

          Sat & Sun: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar