LibGuides: Physician Assistant Subject Guide: Faculty Corner

What is Faculty Corner?

What is the Faculty Corner?

This PA Faculty Corner page is for resources and materials that are more helpful to faculty than students.

Hover over the black 'i' icons to see more information about each resource.

Faculty Handbook for Library Services 2024-2025

Quick links to online forms:

Librarian Classroom Visit & Presentation Request Online Form Faculty can request a librarian to visit their classroom to deliever a tailored presentation that would benefit student's upcoming assignments, skills, or life long learning. Click on the link to fill out the request form.
Literature Search Request Online Form The library provides literature searches on health-related topics for current faculty, adjuncts, residents, preceptors, emeritus, and staff to help find articles relevant to your current research, article, systematic review project or curriculum preparation. Click the link and fill out the form with as much information as possible regarding your research question.
New Faculty Library Orientation Tutorial
Table of Contents Full-Text Service Once signed up, we will email you the table of contents from each issue of your selected journal titles as they are made available. Following the directions in that email, you may select an article to receive the full-text copy.

Faculty Resources

These tools are either entirely free or have a free basic version.

Jump to:

Toolkits
Assessment
Presentations
Creating Flashcards
Whiteboards

Toolkits:

ACUE Online Teaching Toolkit
From the Association of College and University Educators, resources for 6 areas:
1. Welcoming students to the online environment.
2. Managing your online presence.
3. Organizing your online course.
4. Planning and facilitating quality discussions.
5. Recording effective micro-lectures.
6. Engaging students in readings and micro-lectures.

Clinical Teaching - Resources for Case Reports and Studies
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 86 views this year

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Accessible to PA and Pharmacy students/faculty only. The latest eBook editions of selected medical titles in internal medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynecology, cardiology, neurology and more. Includes examination and lecture videos, anatomy tours, PANCE prep, and other media too.

Assessment:

EdPuzzle Add quizzes to videos to track comprehension. The basic plan for teachers is free.
Google Forms for Quizzes Create and grade quizzes with this link's instructions.
Kahoot! Create "games" with quiz questions, embedded images or videos, and assessment reports. Games can be played live or assigned as "challenges" to be done asynchronously. MBKU has a Kahoot account that can be reserved with Matt Breneman.

Presentations:

Canva Use Presentation templates to present within a browser or download as PDFs. Free plan has limitations on which templates and images you can use.
Google Slides Create cloud based slide presentations that can also be shared and collaborated on.
Prezi Another slide creating tool for web/cloud based presentations. Known for their interesting transitions. Pricing options includes a free basic version.

Creating Flashcards:

Quizlet Create flashcards for your course modules with interactive ways to prep students. Has a free plan available.

Whiteboards:

Miro A collaborative whiteboard space. The free plan includes 3 editable whiteboards and unlimited members.
Padlet Create an engaging bulletin board posting information about your course or topics, or make a collaborative board where files can be dropped in from almost any type of device.
Zoom's Whiteboard Feature Within Zoom, the whiteboard feature allows you to create and share a whiteboard that you and permitted participants can write on during a Zoom meeting.

Professional Development Resources

Hover over each black 'i' icons to see more specific information

Jump to:

Websites / Associations
Webinars / Recordings
Journals
Databases
Spotlighted Articles
MBKU Discovery Teaching Results

Websites / Associations:

Faculty Focus - Website Provides editorial articles and free resources to faculty.

Webinars / Recordings:

The Chronicle of Higher Education - Upcoming and On-Demand Virtual Events Free to register for virtual events and recordings are sent afterward.
Inside Higher Ed - Editorial Webcasts Free upcoming and past webcasts on current events in higher education.
ACUE Webinar Recordings Browse recorded webinars on ACUE's official YouTube channel.

Journals:

Clinical Teacher Peer-Reviewed
Journal of Continuing Education in the Health Professions Peer-Reviewed
Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice Peer-Reviewed
The Journal of Physician Assistant Education Peer-Reviewed
Medical Education Peer-Reviewed

Databases:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest source of educational abstracts and journal articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed also includes articles about methods used to teach and train on health sciences and medical topics, courses, and procedures.

Spotlighted Articles:

"Twelve tips for providing feedback to peers about their teaching" Article by Lori R. Newman, David H. Roberts, & Susan E. Frankl.
Tips for Teaching Students ‘What to Learn’ and ‘How to Learn’ During Lectures Article by Tiffany F. Culver, PhD.
How to Hold a Better Class Discussion Article by Jay Howard, PhD.
"Escaping the professional silo: an escape room implemented in an interprofessional education curriculum" Article by Cheri Friedrich, Hilary Teaford, Ally Taubenheim, Patrick Boland, & Brian Sick.

MBKU Discovery Results:

This link will take you to the result list of a simple search for "teaching" in MBKU Discovery, limited to only our collection (you won't see ILL options). You can choose to further narrow down the results to some aspect of teaching. Then filter the results on the left side to books or articles.

Resources for the Getting Publishing

The topics below will help you through the process of researching, writing, and finally figuring out where to publish your article.

Feel free to ask the librarians for one-on-one help with any of these resources.

Step 1 - The Research Process:

Guides

PubMed: The Basics
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 2693 views this year
MBKU Discovery - Our Library Search Box
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 315 views this year
Clinical Trials
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 946 views this year
Systematic Reviews
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 38 views this year
Google & Google Scholar
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 3395 views this year

Our 10 Evaluating Tips for Health News/Information Handout

Recorded Workshops (~30 minutes each)

Step 2 - The Writing Process:

AMA Style Guide
by Katie Gstalder Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 545 views this year
EndNote
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 1410 views this year
Finding and Using Images
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 139 views this year
Writing Resources
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 102 views this year
Zotero
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 2159 views this year

Step 3 - Choosing Where to Publish:

Predatory Journals: Spotting the Red Flags & Why They Matter Recording
Directory of Open Access Journals Includes author fee information for most titles on their list. The DOAJ has vetting standards that they use to try to omit predatory journals from their database of open access journals.

When in doubt, ask us! Not sure if a journal is predatory or not? Contact the librarians at library@ketchum.edu with the title and link of the journal, asking us to evaluate if you should publish in it, become an editor, and use the journal for research. We are happy to help!

Scopus Author Profiles
A profile is created automatically when two or more articles are linked to one name. Scopus gets daily updates to its content from thousands of publishers, which it uses to generate new author profiles and update existing ones.
Google Scholar Profiles
Google Scholar Profiles provide a simple way for authors to showcase their academic publications. You can check who is citing your articles, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can choose to have your list of articles updated automatically or review the updates yourself, or to manually update your articles at any time.
ORCiD ID
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more.
My Bibliography PubMed
My Bibliography is a reference tool that helps you save your citations from PubMed, manually upload from a .RIS/MEDLINE file, or enter using a template.
Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae (SciENcv)
SciENcv is an application that helps researchers assemble the professional information needed for participation in federally funded research.

Literature Search Request Online Form
The library provides literature searches on health-related topics for current faculty, adjuncts, residents, preceptors, emeritus, and staff to help find articles relevant to your current research, article, systematic review project or curriculum preparation. Click the link and fill out the form with as much information as possible regarding your research question.
Table of Contents Full-Text Service
Once signed up, we will email you the table of contents from each issue of your selected journal titles as they are made available. Following the directions in that email, you may select an article to receive the full-text copy.
Librarian Classroom Visit & Presentation Request Online Form
Faculty can request a librarian to visit their classroom to deliever a tailored presentation that would benefit student's upcoming assignments, skills, or life long learning. Click on the link to fill out the request form.
New Faculty Library Orientation Tutorial
New Faculty members can get acquainted with the library resources by participating in this short orientation tutorial.

MBKU Discovery is our searching platform. This search box, located on the library webpage, simultaneously cross searches our catalog and several of our databases for books, ebooks, and online articles.

Popular features:

The Journals A-Z tool on the top purple bar shows the full-text coverage dates and access options for both online and print journals when you search for a Journal publication title.
Any articles that we don't have access to include a handy link to submit an InterLibrary Loan request (and will fill out the article info for you) so that we can get it for you from other libraries within a few days.

MBKU Discovery - Features and Tools
Brochure shows some of the most useful tools and features.

ChatGPT Information Handout

Being a Peer Reviewer

Wiley Peer Review Training
Three-part introductory video series on the basics of peer review
Elsevier Certified Peer Review Course
Provides a thorough grounding in the principles and practice of refereeing.
Course on Peer Review by Nature
For students and researchers in the natural sciences who are new to peer review or wish to refresh their skills

Need Help?

Online Login Help
Username/password info.
Library Services
Services & materials.

Contact Us

Call: 714-449-7440
E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
Chat online: Bottom right corner
- Available during open hours
Book a Librarian Online Form
- In-person or virtual appointments
Drop by in person:
- Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5:00pm

Location

Second Floor of Bldg. A,

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd.

Fullerton, CA 92831

Regular Library Hours

Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11pm

Sat & Sun: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar.

Physician Assistant Subject Guide: Faculty Corner

PA Banner