Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is a starting point for finding images for to the health sciences, and includes library and other online resources. If you are unsure about how to use an image without infringing on copyright, please see the Using Images section for guidance.
Permission to use images:
Keep in mind that you might not always be allowed to reuse an image.
If you are unsure about whether your intended use of the image would be considered copyright infringement, please see the Using Images section of this guide, or contact the library for assistance.
5 Minute Consult
An evidence-based point-of-care tool that covers many different health topics, and also includes images and videos.
The latest eBook editions of selected medical titles in internal medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynecology, cardiology, neurology and more. To find images, do a keyword search and use the “image” filter on the left. Images can be printed or saved as a PowerPoint slide.
An eBook collection for topics in pharmacy, including pharmacokinetics, pharmacotherapy, toxicology, and more. To find images, do a keyword search and use the “image” filter on the left. Images can be printed or saved as a PowerPoint slide.
ClinicalKey is an eBook and eJournal platform that can be searched or browsed. To find images from books and journals, do a keyword search and use the “image” filter on the left. Images can be downloaded, printed, saved as a PowerPoint slide, and emailed. You must create a free account to access those features.
Health Library - Pharmacy
This eBook collection contains topics related to Pharmacy and Physician Assistant studies. To find images, do a keyword search and use the “image” filter on the left, underneath the media category. Images can be downloaded as PowerPoint slides.
Ovid provides access to eBooks and eJournals, and you can also search for the images within those materials. To do so, enter in your keywords and select the “include multimedia” option below the search box. Once you’re at the results page, click on “view multimedia results” to view the image results. Images can be downloaded as JPEG files.
In this point-of-care tool, images can be found by doing a keyword search and selecting the “graphics” filter at the top. Images can be downloaded as a PowerPoint slide.
Flickr Commons was launched in 2008 to help provide access to publically available photographs and image collections from cultural institutions from around the world. Institutions that have contributed their collection to Flickr include the Library of Congress, the National Institutes of Health, and other museums, libraries, and organizations.
Google Images has a search tool to help filter results by usage rights. After doing a search, click on “tools” and then select the “usage rights” dropdown menu.
Images from the History of Medicine
This linked resource contains images from the National Library of Medicine’s Digital Collections, specifically pertaining to the history of medicine.
MedPix is a tool launched by the National Library of Medicine that contains patient case files and medical images from different disciplines.
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) Free Figures & Multimedia
These images are free to use with proper credit given in a citation or statement.
NIH Flickr Page
The NIH Flickr page that contains publicly available photographs and medical images.
NLM Digital Collections
The NLM Digital Collections contains digitized texts, images, videos, and more health related subject matter. Users are able to filter by materials in the public domain.
Click on the link above for Wikimedia Commons, a branch of Wikipedia that is a repository of tens of millions of freely available images that include the health sciences.
Openi is an open access biomedical image search engine, maintained by the National Library of Medicine.