LibGuides: Physician Assistant Subject Guide: Main Resources

Emily Zimmermann

she/her

Email Me

Search MBKU Discovery:

Types of Medical Databases

All Medical Databases Listed A-Z:

5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new window A point-of-care clinical decision support tool for healthcare professionals. Contains over 2,000 disease and condition topics, over 200 procedure videos, patient handouts, and drug monographs.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Accessible to PA and Pharmacy students/faculty only. The latest eBook editions of selected medical titles in internal medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynecology, cardiology, neurology and more. Includes examination and lecture videos, anatomy tours, and other media too.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This 3-D anatomy atlas includes real video of new cadavers, and the tissues retain the color, texture, and movements of the living body. The resource also includes practice exams and a glossary.
AHA Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of 14 ebooks from the American Heart Association on various emergency healthcare topics (eg. CPR, ECC, ACLS, etc.)
Bates’ Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

BioDigital Create a FREE account to explore and dissect the human body in 3D. Drag to move aroun, zoom in and out, peel back layers, and learn detailed, scholarly, information about various parts. Has been called the "Google Maps for the human body."

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Complete full text of leading journals and medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Ophthalmology, Neurology and more. Contains nearly one million images including tables, graphics and illustrations.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Provides a gateway to clinical practice guidelines which meet strict criteria; publishes summaries of the guidelines using a standardized template.
ERIC This link opens in a new window The world’s largest source of educational abstracts and journal articles.
Health Library - Pharmacy This link opens in a new window The pharmacy module includes textbooks, audio & video, cases, self-assessment, and clinical skills information.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window This resource focuses on evidence-based medicine, and includes textbooks, education guides, a glossary, worksheets, and critical appraisal forms.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Lexidrug is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that act as a medical library. Includes information on drugs, diseases, toxicology, patient education, and I.V. compatibility.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window This full-text database provides access to over 2,500 biomedical and health journals.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window A consumer health information website from the National Library of Medicine.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window A comprehensive drug database, includes interactions, comparisons, calculators, NeoFax Pediatrics, and access to the RED BOOK Online.
OVID This link opens in a new window Online access to vision and medical journals and images. No passwords. For a complete list of available titles, click the Journals tab.
PA Core Education This link opens in a new window The Core book collection has over 35 fundamental texts, covering key areas of study—anatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are over 600 cases—allowing students to review for exam or utilize for presentation prep. Q&A covers 4,800 questions to reinforce learned content and help with PANCE preparation.
PA Exam Prep This link opens in a new window Accessible to PA students/faculty only. To create a new FREE account, click "sign up" in the upper right corner. Provides PA students test preparation for PANCE and PANRE certification. Students can work in practice mode, timed exam, or a test that simulates the official test and its conditions.
PA Rotations/Specialties This link opens in a new window This module contains cases, ebooks, and self-assessment resources for PA rotations within Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Ob/Gyn, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery.
Primal Pictures 3D Atlas This link opens in a new window Includes detailed multi-layer images of all areas of the human body. Also includes MRI images, slides, and short videos of common muscle movements. Unlimited Users.
Procedures Consult This link opens in a new window Procedures Consult has been absorbed by ClinicalKey. To get to the procedure videos on ClinicalKey, click the 3 dots to the right of Browse. Select Procedure Videos. Then you get a list of all the videos that were on Procedures Consult. These videos cover Emergency Medicine, and offers video instruction on various medical procedures. Topics include anesthesia, orthopaedics, and family medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window A service of the National Library of Medicine with over 36 million citations for biomedical articles dating back to 1948. Includes links to full-text articles.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window Web edition of the Sanford Guide. Covers clinical information on the treatment of infectious diseases and anti-infective drugs.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window SciFinder is a database of chemical and bibliographic information. Users can use their account to search for journal articles and patents as well as chemical structures and reactions. (If you have not already registered for a SciFinder account, click the SciFinder – New User Registration link below).
SciFinder - New User Registration This link opens in a new window Click to create a new user SciFinder account when using SciFinder for the first time.
The Medical Letter This link opens in a new window The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases in its newsletter, The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based resource for medical information at the point of care. Includes patient info, a "What's New" section, practice changing updates (PCUs), calculators, and drug interactions. To use the mobile app, go to UpToDate through the library website and create an account. Then, go to your device's App Store and download the UpToDate App. Open the app and log in to the account you just created, and you will have free access to the app.

Research Article Databases:

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Complete full text of leading journals and medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Ophthalmology, Neurology and more. Contains nearly one million images including tables, graphics and illustrations.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Provides a gateway to clinical practice guidelines which meet strict criteria; publishes summaries of the guidelines using a standardized template.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest source of educational abstracts and journal articles.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Lexidrug is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that act as a medical library. Includes information on drugs, diseases, toxicology, patient education, and I.V. compatibility.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides access to over 2,500 biomedical and health journals.
OVID This link opens in a new window
Online access to vision and medical journals and images. No passwords. For a complete list of available titles, click the Journals tab.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine with over 36 million citations for biomedical articles dating back to 1948. Includes links to full-text articles.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a database of chemical and bibliographic information. Users can use their account to search for journal articles and patents as well as chemical structures and reactions. (If you have not already registered for a SciFinder account, click the SciFinder – New User Registration link below).
SciFinder - New User Registration This link opens in a new window
Click to create a new user SciFinder account when using SciFinder for the first time.

Patient Care & Handouts Databases:

5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care clinical decision support tool for healthcare professionals. Contains over 2,000 disease and condition topics, over 200 procedure videos, patient handouts, and drug monographs.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Accessible to PA and Pharmacy students/faculty only. The latest eBook editions of selected medical titles in internal medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynecology, cardiology, neurology and more. Includes examination and lecture videos, anatomy tours, and other media too.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Complete full text of leading journals and medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Ophthalmology, Neurology and more. Contains nearly one million images including tables, graphics and illustrations.

Cochrane Clinical Answers
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practising healthcare professionals, our target audience.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
A consumer health information website from the National Library of Medicine.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based resource for medical information at the point of care. Includes patient info, a "What's New" section, practice changing updates (PCUs), calculators, and drug interactions. To use the mobile app, go to UpToDate through the library website and create an account. Then, go to your device's App Store and download the UpToDate App. Open the app and log in to the account you just created, and you will have free access to the app.

Drug Databases:

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
This drug reference database is powered by ClinicalKey and has a similar interface. Features include Drug Identifiers, Drug Interaction Reports, and ToxED.
Facts and Comparisons This link opens in a new window
A drug information resource that includes comparison tables, a drug search by disease/symptom, clinical calculators, and drug reference information such as don't crush/chew and boxed warnings.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Lexidrug is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that act as a medical library. Includes information on drugs, diseases, toxicology, patient education, and I.V. compatibility.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive drug database, includes interactions, comparisons, calculators, NeoFax Pediatrics, and access to the RED BOOK Online.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
Web edition of the Sanford Guide. Covers clinical information on the treatment of infectious diseases and anti-infective drugs.

Specific areas for drug or pharmacy-related needs (e.g. lactation, package inserts, immunizations, etc.):

Pharmacy Subject Guide
by Rebecca Russell Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 6445 views this year

Statistical Information Websites:

Anatomy & Video Databases:

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This 3-D anatomy atlas includes real video of new cadavers, and the tissues retain the color, texture, and movements of the living body. The resource also includes practice exams and a glossary.
Bates’ Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

BioDigital
Create a FREE account to explore and dissect the human body in 3D. Drag to move aroun, zoom in and out, peel back layers, and learn detailed, scholarly, information about various parts. Has been called the "Google Maps for the human body."

Primal Pictures 3D Atlas This link opens in a new window
Includes detailed multi-layer images of all areas of the human body. Also includes MRI images, slides, and short videos of common muscle movements. Unlimited Users.
Procedures Consult This link opens in a new window
Procedures Consult has been absorbed by ClinicalKey. To get to the procedure videos on ClinicalKey, click the 3 dots to the right of Browse. Select Procedure Videos. Then you get a list of all the videos that were on Procedures Consult. These videos cover Emergency Medicine, and offers video instruction on various medical procedures. Topics include anesthesia, orthopaedics, and family medicine.

EBook Collection Databases:

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Accessible to PA and Pharmacy students/faculty only. The latest eBook editions of selected medical titles in internal medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynecology, cardiology, neurology and more. Includes examination and lecture videos, anatomy tours, and other media too.
AHA Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 14 ebooks from the American Heart Association on various emergency healthcare topics (eg. CPR, ECC, ACLS, etc.)
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Complete full text of leading journals and medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Ophthalmology, Neurology and more. Contains nearly one million images including tables, graphics and illustrations.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
This resource focuses on evidence-based medicine, and includes textbooks, education guides, a glossary, worksheets, and critical appraisal forms.
PA Core Education This link opens in a new window
The Core book collection has over 35 fundamental texts, covering key areas of study—anatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are over 600 cases—allowing students to review for exam or utilize for presentation prep. Q&A covers 4,800 questions to reinforce learned content and help with PANCE preparation.
PA Rotations/Specialties This link opens in a new window
This module contains cases, ebooks, and self-assessment resources for PA rotations within Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Ob/Gyn, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of health science e-books, fully searchable and categorized by subject. Includes books in optometry, ophthalmology, and pharmacy.

For more ebooks, go to the eTextbooks tab on the left side.

PANCE Prep Databases:

PA Exam Prep This link opens in a new window
Accessible to PA students/faculty only. To create a new FREE account, click "sign up" in the upper right corner. Provides PA students test preparation for PANCE and PANRE certification. Students can work in practice mode, timed exam, or a test that simulates the official test and its conditions.
PA Core Education This link opens in a new window
The Core book collection has over 35 fundamental texts, covering key areas of study—anatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are over 600 cases—allowing students to review for exam or utilize for presentation prep. Q&A covers 4,800 questions to reinforce learned content and help with PANCE preparation.

For eBooks to prep for the PANCE, search for "PANCE" in MBKU Discovery on the library website or the box in the upper right corner on this page. Also see the PANCE Prep section of this guide.

Need Help?

Online Login Help
Username/password info.
Library Services
Services & materials.

Contact Us

Call: 714-449-7440
E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
Chat online: Bottom right corner
- Available during open hours
Book a Librarian Online Form
- In-person or virtual appointments
Drop by in person:
- Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5:00pm

Location

Second Floor of Bldg. A,

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd.

Fullerton, CA 92831

Regular Library Hours

Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11pm

Sat & Sun: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar.

Physician Assistant Subject Guide: Main Resources

Quick Links