More Resources

National Board of Examiners in Optometry
Find more information and register for the NBEO exams.
NBEO Example Questions
Example questions come from the official NBEO association. Use the drop-down menu and go button to get to different question sections.
Part I Sample Questions
The National Board of Examiners in Optometry is pleased to offer candidates taking the Part I Applied Basic Science (ABS®) Examination an opportunity to test their knowledge using questions similar to those found on the actual Part I ABS Examination.

NBEO Part II Study Guide companion website:

Dr. Castillo’s NBEO Part II Study Guide Companion Website: https://nbeopart2.com/

Books you can access at MBKU library:

Basic & Clinical Science Course (BCSC) Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Only 3 users at a time. American Academy of Ophthalmology eBook collection.

NBEO Part II study guide by Dr. Kimberly Castillo
Call Number: RE953 .C378 2023
Publication Date: 2020
The Berkeley study guide : preparation for the optometry national boards by UC Berkeley School of Optometry
Call Number: RE953 .B47 2018 PT 1 [Books 1 & 2]
Publication Date: 2018
Lange Q&A Optometry Review: Basic and Clinical Sciences by Freddy W. Chang; Maria L. Alarcon Fortepiani; Jeung Kim; John S. Sharpe; Marlon R. Utech; Jeffrey C. Rabin
ISBN: 9780071816373
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
The Wills Eye Manual (8e) by Kalla Gervasio; Travis Peck
ISBN: 9781975160753
Publication Date: 2021-06-12
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology by Neil J. Friedman; Peter K. Kaiser; Roberto Pineda II; Roberto Pineda II
ISBN: 9780323613323
Publication Date: 2020-03-13
Clinical Anatomy and Physiology of the Visual System by Lee Ann Remington; Denise Goodwin
Call Number: QM511 .R45 2022
ISBN: 9781437719260
Publication Date: 2022
Review Questions for the NBEO Examination Part 1 by Butterworth-Heinemann; Edward S. Bennett; Vasudevan Lakshminarayanan
Call Number: RE953 .B885 2006
ISBN: 9780750674898
Publication Date: 2005-09-14
Review Questions for the NBEO Examination Part 2 by Edward S. Bennett; Vasudevan Lakshminarayanan; Butterworth-Heinemann Staff
Call Number: RE953 .B886 2006
ISBN: 9780750675666
Publication Date: 2005-11-15

SCCO Resident Handbook

AAO Abstracts
American Academy of Ophthalmology's Preferred Practice Patterns
American Optometric Association's Optometric Clinical Practice Guidelines
AOSA Foresight
AOSA's online content hub, providing resources, blog posts for Optometry students, and more.
ARVO Abstracts
Association of Vision Science Librarians Resource List
A Brief Guide to Spanish in Ophthalmology
The American Academy of Ophthalmology provides vision science terms in Spanish.
EyeMedsNow
Access information specifically about ophthalmic drugs. To use this resource, register for a free account.
EyeWiki
EyeWiki contains article posts written by ophthalmologists, covering the vast spectrum of eye disease, diagnosis and treatment.
MSD Manual
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
NORD Rare Diseases Database
With more than 1,200 rare disorders, you can explore rare disease reports that include information on symptoms, causes, treatments, clinical trials, and sources of help.
Review of Myopia Management
A Selected History of Retinal Illustrations, 1851–1900 and Beyond: Exhibit Catalog
"This exhibit... traces the developments in retinal illustration throughout the history of ophthalmology, from the first retinal atlases up to twentieth-century techniques."
Skin Deep
Skin Deep is a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public. Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH).
Vision App List
Visual Skills Needed for Specific Sports
Click through the various sports and scroll through their lists of various visual skills and descriptions needed to excel in that sport.

ASCO podcast series
From the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry.
BMJ Podcasts
Up to date interviews and debate with opinion leaders in health and medicine, from BMJ and its conferences.
Cochrane Library Podcasts
Cochrane review authors explain in plain language the evidence and findings of their high-impact reviews.
The Dr. April Jasper Show
From Optometric Management Education. This podcast is filled with relevant conversations geared toward eye care providers today.
The Lancet - In Conversation with...
The journal’s authors explore their research and its impact on people’s health, health care, and health policy in this regular podcast.
The MOD Pod
Podcast by Modern Optometry. Each episode "offers a selection of articles from each issue in audio form..."
NEJM This Week
Latest summaries in medical research, reviews, and perspectives from the the New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM).
Ophthalmology Innovation Podcast
Links to a series of conversations with ophthalmology's innovators and business leaders.
Podcasts from the JAMA Network
JAMA's Editor in Chief interviews leading experts about the most pressing issues facing medicine and health care today.
Try Not to Blink
The above podcast provides weekly episodes cover news, hot topics, tips and tricks in optometry.

Health Information in Multiple Languages:

Need Help?

Online Login Help
Username/password info.
Library Services
Services & materials.

Contact Us

Call: 714-449-7440
E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
Chat online: Bottom right corner
- Available during open hours
Book a Librarian Online Form
- In-person or virtual appointments
Drop by in person:
- Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5:00pm

Location

Second Floor of Bldg. A,

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd.

Fullerton, CA 92831

Regular Library Hours

Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11pm

Sat & Sun: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar.

Optometry Subject Guide: NBEO & More

More Resources

NBEO Part II Study Guide companion website:

Dr. Castillo’s NBEO Part II Study Guide Companion Website: https://nbeopart2.com/

Books you can access at MBKU library:

Health Information in Multiple Languages:

Need Help?

Contact Us

Location

Regular Library Hours

LIBRARY

CONTACT

MBKU