Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Workshops: Home

See upcoming topics and RSVP by registering for workshops.

Fall Quarter Library Workshops

Library Workshops: Fall Quarter

Workshops will take place on Zoom and will be recorded.

Workshop
Database Exploration: ClinicalKey & UpToDate
Time and Location

Wednesday, October 5th | 1:00-1:30pm | Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Katie Gstalder
Description Find out about the tools and features within UpToDate and ClinicalKey to serve your research and clinical needs. Also, learn how to get access to their mobile app versions for free via the MBKU Library mobile subscriptions. Bring your questions!  
Workshop
AMA Citation Style
Time and Location

Friday, October 14th | 11:00-11:30am | Workshop Link

Instructors Katie Gstalder & Whitney Sproul
Description

Learn how to cite resources using the AMA citation style. 

Workshop
EndNote Basics
Time and Location

Monday, October 24th | 1:00-1:30pm | Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Katie Gstalder
Description

Looking for a better way to manage all the citations for your research project? This workshop is for anyone interested in learning how to use EndNote or who needs a refresher. Topics include creating an EndNote library, adding references to your library, organizing citations with groups, setting up the find full-text tool, and inserting in-text citations into a Word document. Bring your questions! 

 

Spring Quarter Library Workshops

Workshop
Using EndNote 20 to Cite Sources (In-Person)
Time and Location

Wednesday, April 13th | 1:00-1:30pm | RSVP Here

(This workshop is in-person and will not be recorded)

Instructors Michelle Schonken
Description

Learn how to use the new EndNote 20 to import, collect, and share sources and automatically format your Word documents to whatever citation style you need. Mac and PC questions welcome!

Winter Quarter Library Workshops

Library Workshops: Winter Quarter

Workshops will take place on Zoom and most will be recorded.

Drop-ins are welcome or fill out the online RSVP registration to receive an Outlook invitation. 

Workshop
Library Happy Half-Hour
Time and Location

Friday, November 19th | 12:00-12:30pm | 

To make everyone comfortable asking questions, this zoom session will NOT be recorded.

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description

Email in or bring your questions to a laidback Zoom Q&A for research, library stuff, data management, etc. BYOBev. 

You can email questions ahead of time to wsproul@ketchum.edu or mschonken@ketchum.edu (helps us give you the best answer).

Workshop
Making Your Publications Discoverable
Time and Location

Wednesday, December 8th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description Tips for getting published, retaining author rights, self-archiving, ORCID ID, and how open science practices can make sure researchers are finding your works.
Workshop
The Systematic Review Process
Time and Location

Thursday, December 16th | 12:00-12:30pm | 

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description

Learn what a systematic review is, the time and parts involved, and how librarians can be involved to help.                                                                                     

Workshop
Research Data Management Toolkit
Time and Location

Wednesday, January 12th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul 
Description

We'll demo one tool for each step of the data cycle - from RDM plan all the way to uploading to a repository.                                                                           

Fall Quarter Library Workshops

Library Workshops: Fall Quarter

Workshops will take place on Zoom and will be recorded.

Workshop
Intro to Research Data Management
Time and Location

Wednesday, September 8th | 1:00-1:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description After collecting your valuable raw data from your sample group - what do you do with it? Learn the tools and tricks to collect, organize, and save your raw data in ways that are compliant with grants, will avoid future journal retractions, and make your life easier. Bring your questions!  
Workshop
Study & Prep Resources: Ace Those Exams!
Time and Location

Friday, September 17th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description This workshop will cover the online study resources available to MBKU students to prepare for the NBEO, NAPLEX, and PANCE/PANRE exams. Discover the databases and ebooks that were designed to help you ace your exam! 
Workshop
Using EndNote 20 to Cite Sources
Time and Location

Wednesday, September 22nd | 1:00-1:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description

Learn how to use the new EndNote 20 to import, collect, and share sources and automatically format your Word documents to whatever citation style you need. Mac and PC questions welcome!

Workshop
Getting Better Search Results
Time and Location

Wednesday, September 29h | 1:00-1:30pm | 

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description

Learn how to get better search results with strategies like PICO & PEO Frameworks, Boolean Logic, and others that apply to almost any databases you use. We'll also cover some searching quirks of specific databases too. Bring your questions!

Workshop
Finding and Using Images Legally and Ethically
Time and Location

Wednesday, October 6th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description

Find out where to find medical images that you can legally use in your presentations, posters, and articles and how to cite them properly. We'll go over the do's & don'ts of copyright images and provide tips on figuring out whether or not you have permission to use them. Bring your questions!  

 

Past Library Workshops Archive

Library Workshops Archive

Check out the live workshops we've recorded so far.

Workshop
UpToDate & ClinicalKey: An Overview
Time and Location

Wednesday, January 20th | 12:00-12:30pm |  Recorded Workshop Link

The recording will be posted here about a week later.

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description Find out about the tools and features within UpToDate and ClinicalKey to serve your research and clinical needs. Also, learn how to get access to their mobile app versions for free via the MBKU Library mobile subscriptions. Bring your questions!  
Workshop
Study & Prep Resources: Ace Those Exams!
Time and Location

Monday, January 25th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

The recording will be posted here about a week later.

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description This workshop will cover the online study resources available to MBKU students to prepare for the NBEO, NAPLEX, and PANCE/PANRE exams. Discover the databases and ebooks that were designed to help you ace your exam! 
Workshop
Predatory Journals: Spotting the Red Flags & Why They Matter
Time and Location

Monday, February 1st | 12:00-12:30pm |  Recorded Workshop Link

The recording will be posted here about a week later.

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description Predatory journal numbers are on the rise and damages both author and institution reputations. Find out what predatory journals and publishers are to better navigate the publishing world. You'll also learn what predatory practice red flags to watch out for when evaluating journals to use for research or choosing where to publish your articles. Bring your questions! 
Workshop
Getting Better Search Results
Time and Location

Monday, October 5th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description

Learn how to to get better search results with strategies like PICO & PEO Frameworks, Boolean Logic, and others that apply to almost any databases you use. We'll also cover some searching quirks of specific databases too. Bring your questions! 

Workshop
Finding & Using Images Legally and Ethically
Time and Location

Friday, October 9th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description

Find out where to find medical images that you can legally use in your presentations, posters, and articles and how to cite them properly. We'll go over the do's & don'ts of copyright images and provide tips on figuring out whether or not you have permission to use them. Bring your questions!  

Workshop
EndNote Basics
Time and Location

Monday, October 12th | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description

Looking for a better way to manage all the citations for your research project? This workshop is for anyone interested in learning how to use EndNote or who needs a refresher. Topics include creating an EndNote library, adding references to your library, organizing citations with groups, setting up the find full-text tool, and inserting in-text citations into a Word document. Bring your questions! 

Workshop
PubMed Advanced: MeSH Terms
Time and Location

Monday, October 19th | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description

Take your PubMed searches to the next level by learning how MeSH terms work. Bring your questions! 

Workshop
Unlock Google
Time and Location

Monday, April 6th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link 

Friday, April 10th | 12:00-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link 

Unlock Google Handout

Instructors Michelle Schonken, Whitney Sproul, & Renee Torres
Description Learn how to use Google Advanced Search and Google Scholar to its fullest potential. Find out how to connect Google Scholar to the Library database subscriptions, create alerts to stay up to date, and more! 
Workshop
EndNote Basics
Time and Location

Monday, April 13th | 12-1pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul & Michelle Schonken
Description Looking for a better way to manage all the citations for your research project? This workshop is for anyone interested in learning how to use EndNote or who needs a refresher. Topics include creating an EndNote library, adding references to your library, organizing citations with groups, setting up the find full-text tool, and inserting in-text citations into a Word document.  
Workshop
Using Grammarly
Time and Location

Friday, April 17th | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description Want to learn how to use Grammarly Premium to make your written words the best they can be? In this workshop we will cover getting Grammarly Premium for free, managing your account and editing settings, using the Grammarly online plugin and desktop app, and incorporating Grammarly into Word documents. 
Workshop
The New PubMed
Time and Location

Monday, April 20th | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Friday, April 24th | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Whitney Sproul, Michelle Schonken, & Renee Torres
Description PubMed has a new interface available! Come join us to discover the new PubMed and learn more about how to navigate the new interface, see some of the new tools available, and how to build an effective search. 
Workshop
Finding Clinical Trials
Time and Location

Monday, April 27th | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Instructors Michelle Schonken & Whitney Sproul
Description

Having a hard time finding clinical trials? This workshops covers what the different levels of clinical trials are, why they matter, and where you can find them. We will show you which databases and resources contain clinical trials and how to effectively use those search tools to get the results you need. 

Workshop
Identifying Fake Health News/Information
Time and Location

Friday, May 1st | 12-12:30pm | Recorded Workshop Link

Our 10 Evaluating Tips for Health News/Information Handout

How to Spot Fake News Handout

FDA's Health Fraud Scams Lists

Instructors Michelle Schonken, Whitney Sproul, & Renee Torres
Description This workshop will be an interactive learning experience with hands-on exercises and examples of how to recognize suspect or misleading online health news or information. Attendees learn about red flags to watch out for and work together to identify the various issues in news articles and media posts that were widely spread. Becoming a critical health information consumer can make the difference between recognizing important and life-saving information and falling for bad science. 

 

Need Help?

Contact Us
  • Call: 714-449-7440
  • E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
  • Chat online: Bottom right corner
    • Available during open hours
  • Book a Librarian Online Form 
    • In-person or virtual appointments
  • Drop by in person:
    • Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5pm

Location

Second Floor of ‚ÄčBldg. A, 

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd. 

Fullerton, CA 92831


Fall Quarter Hours

          Sun: 11am-11pm

          Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11pm

          Sat: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar