Zotero: Start Using Zotero

Before saving any references in Zotero it is a good idea to create a consistent organization for your materials to ensure that they are easy for you to find and examine later.

Collections

Much like creating a file folder on your desktop, collections are folders within your Zotero library that help organize you materials. These collections might represent a current research topic, readings for class, or items of interest.

To create a Collection:

1. Open Zotero
2. Select File > New Collection
3. Give your Collection a name.

Alternatively:

1. right click on "My Library" 
2. Select  New Collection
3. Give your Collection a name.

References can be added to Zotero in multiple ways:

• Adding references manually
• Adding references with Zotero Connector
• Adding references from databases
• Adding references with identifier numbers

1. From the top toolbar, select File > New Item
2. Choose the type of reference you’re creating from the menu (select book chapter, journal article, website, etc.)
3. Fill in all relevant fields with as much information as you have

Zotero Connector for Individual Items

Zotero Connector allows you to directly save a citation and any available PDFs while browsing databases and websites. 

Zotero Connector can save

• Journal articles (and the associate PDFs if available)
• Books and book chapters (and links to the online copy if saved via MBKU Library)
• Websites (snapshots of the page at the time of saving the citation)

To save a citation, and any associated PDFs, click on the Zotero Connector icon on the right side of the browser's address bar, as shown in the image below:

In this example, we searched MBKU Discovery and found an an article of interest. By clicking on the Zotero Connector we can save the citation and it will download a copy of the full-text article.

Zotero Connector may be the easiest for capturing individual articles or book chapters, especially if you are looking to save links or copies of the item. However, there are other ways to save citations and you can attach files later after saving the citation.

NOTE: If you hover over the icon a message will appear to tell you whether you have access to the site and are able to save the information. If you are saving information from a website such as a news site or a consumer health site it will allow you to save as much citation information as possible and take a snapshot of the webpage.

---

Zotero Connector for Multiple Items

Zotero Connector also allows users to capture multiple references when it identifies a webpage with multiple entries. You will know you can capture multiple references when the Zotero Connector icon is a yellow folder.

1. You may export all results or just a selection of citations from the results page.
2. Click on the Zotero Connector yellow folder icon in the upper right corner of your browser.
3. In the new window select  which references you would like exported. 
4. The citation and any available PDFs will be downloaded to Zotero.

NOTE: This example uses Google Scholar, however other databases, such as MBKU Discovery, also have this option.

Many databases are able to add references into your ibrary. The first step is to have the database create a file containing the references, and then you can import it.

• Cochrane Library
• EBSCO Databases (MBKU Discovery, MEDLINE Complete, & ERIC)
• Google Scholar
• PubMed
• SciFinder

---

Cochrane Library

Citations from the Cochrane Library can be exported individually or in batches.

1. You may export all results or just a selection of citations from the results page.
2. Select Export all or Export selected at the top of the results page.
3. From the Choose your export options window:
   1. Select file type: RIS (Reference Manager)
   2. Check the box next to Include Abstract, if you would like the abstract exported.
   3. Click Export Citation
4. A .ris file will be downloaded to your computer.
5. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.

Also refer to Adding References with Zotero Connector as an alternative for saving references

---

EBSCO Databases

Citations can be exported from any EBSCO database (e.g., MEDLINE Complete and ERIC) either individually or in batches.

1. From the results page, click on the blue folder icon to the right of the citation(s) you would like to export to Zotero. The folder will turn yellow once a citation has been added to the temporary folder in EBSCO.
2. Once you have added citations to your folder and are ready to export them, click folder view in the right column.
3. To send all citations in your folder select export in the right column.
4. Several options will appear on the next page. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
5. Click save to download the file.
6. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.

Also refer to Adding References with Zotero Connector as an alternative for saving references

---

Google Scholar

1. From the results page, click on the double quotes icon from the reference you'd like to add to Zotero.
2. Select RefMan at the bottom of the pop-up window.
3. Another screen will appear asking if you would like to import items from Google Scholar. Select OK.  If you would like to avoid seeing this window in the future select "Always allow for this site" before clicking OK.

​

NOTE: Depending on the accessibility of the item, Zotero may not automatically download the PDF. See our helpful guide on using Google Scholar and setting up your library preferences to help identify if MBKU Library has access to the item.

---

PubMed Legacy

​Please refer to the Adding References with Zotero Connector to add references in batches and individually in PubMed Legacy

New PubMed

PubMed can send references individually or in batches.

1. Click on the article citation that you'd like to export.

2. On the right hand side click on Cite

3. Select Download .nbib

4. Next, click "Create file"

5. A .nbib file will download to your downloads folder or may appear at the bottom of you browser. 

6. 

7. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library. Or double click on the file to open it in Zotero from either the browser or the download folder on your computer. This will import the references. 

Multiple References

1. From the results page, select one or more citations that you would like to add to export
2. At the top of the page, just under the search box, select Send to.
3. In the dropdown menu you can choose to save your selection or "All of the results on this page" or All results".
4. Next, click "Create file"
5. A .nbib file will download to your downloads folder or may appear at the bottom of you browser. 

NOTE: Using the Zotero Connector to export references may be preferable as it requires less steps and it will download accessible PDFs. Please refer to the Adding References with Zotero Connector. 

---

SciFinder

SciFinder can export citations individually or in batches.

1. From the results page, select one or more citations that you would like to add to your EndNote library.
2. Click Export on the upper-right corner of the page.
3. A pop-up window will open. By default, SciFinder will export the citation you have selected. You may also choose to export all results, or select a specific range (i.e., 2-20).
4. Leave Citation export format (*.ris) selected.
5. You may choose a file name if you wish.
6. Select Export to download the file to your computer.
7. See importing reference files for instructions on how to add these references to your library.Or double click on the file to open it in Zotero from either the browser or the download folder on your computer. This will import the references.

NOTE: Zotero Connector may malfunction with this particular database. If this happens, use the steps listed above to export references.

---

Importing Reference Files

See directions below for how to import a reference file into Zotero.

1. From the top toolbar select File > Import > A file
2. Select the file you wish to import. Please note that Zotero accepts certain file formats, which can be found here. RIS (.ris) is a common format that works well with Zotero. If you have issues importing a file it may be due to the file format.
3. In the next window, verify if you would like to import the item into a new collection. If you do not, uncheck the the box next to "Place imported collections and items into new collection. Then click "Next". ​ 
4. After clicking "Next" the files will be imported into you Zotero library and to finish the process, click "Finish".

NOTE: Zotero imports all files regardless of duplication. If you would like to delete or merge items see the instructions here.

Adding Item by Identifier (DOI, ISBN, PMID)

Zotero can add items to your library if you already know the ISBN,  DOI, or PMID.

• DOI (Digital Object Identifier): Found in journal article from the last two decades
• ISBN (International Standard Book Number): Found in books
• PMID (PubMed ID): Found in articles indexed and retrieved from PubMed

1. To add an item using one of these numbers, click the Add Item by Identifier button, 

2. A search box will appear. Enter the DOI, ISBN, or PMID and hit enter on your keyboard. 

Zotero will search for the item and input as much reference information as it can. Be sure to check the reference for any missing or inaccurate information.

---

How can I tell if an article has a DOI?

While many articles have DOI numbers, some do not, especially if the article was published before 2000. If you’re unsure if your PDF contains a DOI number:

• PubMed will list the DOI number in the reference, both on the results page and on the article record page.
• The PDF article will list the DOI number somewhere in the document.
  • Look for it on the first or last page, in the header or footer, or near the abstract.

Contact Us

• Call: 714-449-7440
• E-mail: library@ketchum.edu
• Chat online: Bottom right corner
  • Available during open hours
• Book a Librarian Online Form 
  • In-person or virtual appointments
• Drop by in person:
  • Librarians available M-F, 7:30am-5pm

---

Location

Second Floor of ​Bldg. A, 

2575 Yorba Linda Blvd. 

Fullerton, CA 92831

---

Spring Quarter Hours

          Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11pm

          Sat & Sun: 9am-11pm

For Holiday closures see our Library Calendar.